Horizon Europe Programme Committees


Horizon Europe is implemented by the European Commission assisted by Programme Committees. Discussions on strategic planning and on ensuring links to nationally funded activities is an essential part of their work. Another core task is to provide opinions on the Work Programmes (with the exception of the ERC and the JRC).

There are 14 configurations of the Committee for the Specific Programme Implementing Horizon Europe:

  1. Strategic Configuration
  2. European Research Council
  3. Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions
  4. Research Infrastructures
  5. Health
  6. Culture, creativity and Inclusive Society
  7. Civil Security for Society
  8. Digital, Industry and Space
  9. Climate, Energy and Mobility
  10. Food, Bioeconomy, Natural Resources, Agriculture and Environment
  11. The European Innovation Council (EIC) and European Innovation ecosystems
  12. Widening participation and strengthening the European Research Area
  13. Euratom - Fission
  14. Euratom - Fusion

The members of Programme Committees are delegates and experts of national governments. Meetings are organised by the European Commission.

National Contact Points (NCPs) are support structures that have become an essential component in the implementation of successive Framework Programmes. They provide information and on-the ground advice to potential applicants and beneficiaries, through the project life cycle, in their own language, in a manner that would be impossible for the Commission and its Agencies acting alone.