Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

24 Jul 2020

Jean-Pierre Bourguignon appointed as interim President of the European Research Council

On 24 July 2020, the European Commission appointed Jean-Pierre Bourguignon as President of the European Research Council (ERC) on an interim basis. Professor Bourguignon will be in office from 27 July 2020 until the next ERC President is selected and takes up duties. Having headed the ERC from 2014 to 2019, Jean-Pierre Bourguignon’s reappointment comes at a crucial moment when strong leadership is needed for the organisation, with budget negotiations ongoing and the transition to a new EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation forthcoming.

On behalf of the ERC’s governing body, the Scientific Council, its three Vice Presidents - Professors Dame Janet Thornton, Fabio Zwirner and Eveline Crone - conveyed their great satisfaction with the reappointment.

Jean-Pierre Bourguignon will serve until a new ERC President takes office, after being selected by a dedicated Search Committee.

ERC News



Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook