Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

09 Jul 2020

EC announces 24 new European Universities

The European Commission has announced the 24 new "European Universities" that were selected from the second pilot call under the Erasmus+ programme. The list was published by EACEA (the EC's Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency) on 9 July 2020. The 24 European Universities are added to the first 17 such alliances that were selected already in 2019.

European Universities are transnational alliances of higher education institutions from across the EU that come together for the benefit of students, teachers and society. With financial support from the Erasmus+ and Horizon 2020 programmes, they are aimed at enhancing the quality, inclusion, digitalisation and attractiveness of European higher education.

Selected from 62 applications, the 24 newly selected European Universities involve 165 higher education institutions from 26 Member States and other countries participating in the Erasmus+ programme. Six higher education institutions from Austria are part of the selected consortia:

  • University of Innsbruck (Aurora Alliance)
  • St. Pölten University of Applied Sciences (E3UDRES2 - Engaged and Entrepreneurial European University as Driver for European Smart and Sustainable Regions)
  • Vienna University of Economics and Business (ENGAGE.EU - The European University Engaged in Societal Change)
  • University of Leoben (EURECA-PRO - The European University on Responsible Consumption and Production)
  • Vorarlberg University of Applied Sciences (RUN-EU - Regional University Network - European University)
  • Management Center Innsbruck (ULYSSEUS - An open to the world, persons-centred and entrepreneurial European University for the citizenship of the future).

Two other Austrian universities, the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences and the University of Graz, are already participating in European Universities selected under the first pilot call.

Each alliance is composed on average of seven higher education institutions. While some alliances are comprehensive and cover all disciplines, others are for example focusing on sustainable development, health and well-being, digitalisation and artificial intelligence, art, engineering or space.

In total, a budget of up to €287 million is available for these 41 European Universities. Each alliance receives up to €5 million from the Erasmus+ programme and up to €2 million from the Horizon 2020 programme for three years to start implementing their plans and pave the way for other higher education institutions across the EU to follow. Funding from both programmes is an important step in strengthening the interactions between the European Education Area and the European Research Area. The progress of each alliance is closely monitored.

Under the next long-term EU budget for 2021-2027, the Commission proposed to roll out European Universities under the Erasmus programme, in synergy with Horizon Europe and other EU instruments.

For more information:

EC - press release


European Universities Initiative

Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research - press release (in German)

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook