Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

02 Jul 2020

EIT Governing Board: New Chair and four new members take office

Photo credit: EIT

On 1 July 2020, Gioia Ghezzi took office as new Chair of the EIT Governing Board. She succeeded Dirk Jan van den Berg whose term ended on 30 June. Ms Ghezzi is Member of the EIT Governing Board and Executive Committee and also holds a number of non-executive and institutional roles, including Chair of the RGI Group (Corsair Capital), Board Member and Chair of the Nomination Committee of Atlantia (Edizione Holding), Member of the Scientific Committee of Confindustria (IT), Vice-President Smart City & Sustainability of Assolombarda (IT). She was previously Chair of the Ferrovie dello Stato Italiane Group in Rome between 2014 and 2018.

On 2 July 2020, the European Commission appointed four new members to the Governing Board:

Martina N. Larkin is Head of Regional Strategies, Europe and Eurasia and a Member of the Executive Committee at the World Economic Forum.

Paul Rübig has been a Member of the European Parliament, a Member of the Upper Austria Regional Assembly and the National Parliament of Austria. Since 2010, he has been a Board Member of the Austrian Industry Committee at the Austrian Chamber of Commerce.

Nektarios Tavernarakis is a member of the scientific council of the European Research Council, Chairman of the Board of Directors at the Foundation for Research and Technology – Hellas (FORTH) and Professor of Molecular Systems Biology at the Medical School of the University of Crete (Greece).

Attila Péter Végh has a long executive career; he has been CEO and Chairman at some of the largest European hospital groups, including leading university teaching hospitals and academic medical centres

The EIT Governing Board oversees the strategic direction of the EIT as well as the selection of its Knowledge and Innovation Communities (KICs). It is composed of experienced professionals in the fields of education, research and business.. Appointed for four years, they will guide and steer the EIT together with the other members of the EIT Governing Board.


Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook