Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

25 Sep 2019

Nantes is European Capital of Innovation 2019

On 25 September 2019, the European Commission announced that the winner of the European Capital of Innovation 2019 competition is the city of Nantes, France. The title was awarded to Nantes in recognition for its outstanding ability to harness innovation to improve the lives of its citizens. Nantes is the fifth city to win the award, and the second non-capital city after Barcelona. It has developed a vision and a practice of open governance featuring a constant dialogue with citizens, associations and experts. It also has a thriving digital and start-up community, which helps develop and implement public policies.

The prize is worth €1 million funded by Horizon 2020. The other five runner-up cities – Antwerp (Belgium), Bristol (UK), Espoo (Finland), Glasgow (UK) and Rotterdam (Netherlands) – received €100,000 each to promote and scale up their innovation practice.


EC Press Release


Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook