Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

26 Jun 2019

First 17 “European Universities” selected

On 26 June 2019, the European Commission announced the results of the first “European Universities” alliances call. Out of 54 applications received, 17 European Universities involving 114 higher education institutions from 24 Member States were selected. The selection of European Universities includes a broad range of higher education institutions from across the EU, from universities of applied sciences, technical universities and universities of fine arts to comprehensive and research-intensive universities.

In total, a budget of up to €85 million is available for the first 17 “European Universities”. Each alliance will receive up to €5 million in the coming three years to start implementing their plans and pave the way for other higher education institutions across the EU to follow. Their progress will be closely monitored.

Two Austrian universities are part of the selected alliances: the University of Graz (ARQUS European University Alliance) and the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Vienna (EPICUR European Partnership for an Innovative Campus Unifying Regions).

European Universities are transnational alliances of higher education institutions from across the EU that share a long-term strategy and promote European values and identity. The initiative is designed to significantly strengthen mobility of students and staff, and foster the quality, inclusiveness and competitiveness of European higher education. 

A list of all selected European Universities can be downloaded below.

EC Press Release


Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook