Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

21 Jun 2018

Commission announces winners of Women Innovators 2018 Prize

On 21 June 2018, at an award ceremony in Brussels, Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation Carlos Moedas and MEP Eva Kaili announced the four winners of the 2018 EU Prize for Women Innovators, funded under Horizon 2020.

The winners of the 2018 EU Prize for Women Innovators are:

  • 1st Prize (€100,000): Ms Gabriella Colucci (Italy), founder of Arterra Bioscience, a research-based biotech company focused on the discovery and production of active compounds for industrial applications, in particular cosmetics and agriculture.
  • 2nd Prize (€50,000): Ms Alicia Asin Perez (Spain), co-founder and CEO of Libelium, a company in the hardware solutions market for the Internet of Things.
  • 3rd Prize (€30,000): Ms Walburga Fröhlich (Austria), founder and CEO of atempo, a social business company that invented services and products that allow people with learning disabilities to enter the workforce as paid employees.
  • Rising Innovator (€20,000): Ms Karen Dolva (Norway), co-founder of No Isolation, a company with the single purpose of creating tailored communications devices for groups that are socially isolated.

Commissioner Moedas said: “The four winners are truly inspiring women who developed ideas that succeeded in the market and at the same time improve the lives of people. I am happy that our prize recognised their outstanding achievement. But it also has another aim – to inspire future generations of women innovators. Women's participation and contribution to research and innovation is fundamental for Europe's growth.”

Photo credit: European Commission


Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook