Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

30 May 2018

High-level search committee set up to look for new ERC President

The European Commission (EC) has today announced that Commissioner Carlos Moedas, responsible for research, science and innovation, has appointed seven experts to conduct the search for the next president of the European Research Council (ERC). The committee will be chaired by former European Commissioner Mario Monti, President of Bocconi University in Milanand also former Prime Minister of Italy. Former ERC President Helga Nowotny from Austria is also a member of the committee.

The committee will make recommendations to the European Commission in time for the next ERC president to take up duties on 1 January 2020, as successor to the current president, Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon.

Commissioner Carlos Moedas said: "I am delighted that Mr Mario Monti has accepted my invitation to chair the search committee for the next ERC president. The ERC has become a powerhouse of science, and will be a key pillar in an even more ambitious research and innovation framework programme that will follow Horizon 2020. I am confident that Mr Monti and his distinguished group of people from European science and research can help us find the right person to lead the ERC to even greater success."

The search committee members are:

  • Chair Mario MONTI
  • Helga NOWOTNY, Professor emeritus of Social Studies of Science, ETH Zurich, Former President of the ERC Scientific Council 
  • Fabiola GIANOTTI, Director-General of CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research
  • Carl-Henrik HELDIN, Director of the Ludwig Institute at Uppsala University, Chairman of the board of the Nobel Foundation
  • Jules A. HOFFMANN, Chair of Integrative Biology, University of Strasbourg, 2011 Nobel Prize in Medicine
  • Alice GAST, President of Imperial College London  
  • Maciej ZYLICZ, President and Executive Director of the Foundation for Polish Science

The procedure of appointment of the president of ERC calls for the president to be appointed by the Commission following a transparent recruitment process involving an independent dedicated search committee, for a term of maximum four years, which is renewable once. The recruitment process and the candidate selected will need the approval of the ERC Scientific Council. 

For more information:

EC DG Research & Innovation - News

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook