Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

26 Sep 2017

EC awards European Young Scientists Prizes

On 26 September, 2017 the European Commission awarded this year's top prizes for young scientists. The winners are Karina Movsesjan from the Czech Republic for "The role of RAD51 mutations in cancer development", Adam Jan Alexander Ohnesorge from Switzerland for "The forgotten prisoners – Civilian prisoners of the Great War in Corsica" and Danish Mahmood from Canada for "W.I.N.I.T.S. (Wireless Interconnected Non-Invasive Triage System)".

The three second prizes and three third prizes were given to projects from Poland, Canada, Ukraine, Austria, Bulgaria and Germany. The Austrian third prize winners are Florian Cäsar and Michael Plainer (photo) for "Sigma – Learning how computers learn".

The winners were among 146 promising young scientists aged 14 to 20 who presented their projects at the 29th edition of the EU Contest for Young Scientists over the last days in Tallinn, Estonia. The winners shared a total of €53,500 in prize money, as well as other prizes such as science trips.

List of Core Prizes

The European Union Contest for Young Scientists was set up by the European Commission in 1989 to encourage co-operation and exchange between young scientists and to give them an opportunity to be guided by some of Europe's most prominent researchers.

Photo Credit: HTL Wels


Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook