Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

24 Mar 2017

EC launches 2017 European Capital of Innovation contest

The European Commission launched the third edition of the European Capital of Innovation award on 23 March 2017. This contest will reward the European city that is building the best "innovation ecosystem", connecting citizens, public organisations, academia, and business. The prize is worth €1,000,000 and will be used by the winner to scale up its innovation activities. The second and third ranked cities will each receive €100,000. The deadline for applications is 21 June 2017.

Applicant cities will have to prove how they create the local conditions to innovate, and will be judged on innovative solutions to the specific societal challenges that they face. The contest is open to cities

  • with over 100,000 inhabitants (however, in countries where there is no city with more than 100,000 inhabitants, the largest city is eligible to apply)
  • which are in an EU Member State or a country associated to Horizon 2020.

An independent panel of experts will select the winning city in the second half of 2017. The European Capital of Innovation in 2016 was Amsterdam.

For more information:

EC DG Research and Innovation - News

European Capital of Innovation Award - website

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook