Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

03 Jun 2016

New European University Network launched

A new network of European universities is banding together with the aim to influence policy behind the next EU research programme, set to begin in 2021. The network was founded by a group of universities in Brussels on 1 June 2016.

The Guild of European Research Intensive Universities brings together universities with the intention of collaborating on "innovative solutions to some of Europe’s most intractable scientific and social challenges". Nine member universities have been announced so far: Bologna, Glasgow, Göttingen, Groningen, Oslo, Tübingen, Warwick, Uppsala, and Jagiellonian University in Krakow. The Guild hopes to expand the network up to 20 universities, before its formal launch in November.

The Guild plans to join other groups operating in Brussels such as EuroTech, a network of four European universities specialised in science and technology, CEASAR, which represents some 50 institutes, the European Universities Association, which speaks for 850 universities, and the League of European Research Universities (LERU), which covers 21 universities.

Fore more information:

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook