Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

13 May 2016

Five European Universities officially open European campus

LERU, the League of European Research Universities, has announced that five universities have officially opened "Eucor - the European Campus", with a ceremony in Strasbourg, thus taking a big step towards creating the "first European University". The Universities of Basel, Freiburg, Upper Alsace and Strasbourg, together with the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology have given themselves the possibility to act as a single legal entity through this cross-border alliance. Prof. Dr. Hans-Jochen Schiewer, Rector of the University of Freiburg, has been elected to serve as the first president of Eucor for the coming three years, with Prof. Dr. Andrea Schenker-Wicki, Rector of the University of Basel, as his deputy and Janosch Nieden, former Eucor coordinator, as managing director. The ceremonial address at the opening ceremony was held by Carlos Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation.

For further information:

LERU - News

Eucor Website
Informational brochure

Photo: by LERU

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook