Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

27 Apr 2016

Ratification period for Paris Climate Agreement starts

On 22 April 2016, the EU signed the Paris Climate Agreement in a high-level ceremony in New York (US). The agreement was concluded at the UN Climate Change Conference (COP21) in December 2015 and will now be open for signature for one year. On behalf of the EU, the document was signed by the Dutch Minister for the Environment Sharon Dijksma (NL Council Presidency) and EC Vice-President Maroš Šefčovič.


The Paris Agreement sets a milestone in global climate action

The Paris Agreement will enter into force after ratification from at least 55 countries accounting together for at least 55% of global greenhouse gas emissions. It will then become legally binding for the countries that have ratified it. In March 2016, the European Council underlined that the EU and its member states need to ratify the Paris Agreement as soon as possible and on time so as to be parties as from the date of entry into force.   

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook