Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

08 Apr 2016

Amsterdam is European Capital of Innovation 2016

On 8 April 2016, the European Commission awarded the title of European Capital of Innovation ("iCapital") 2016 to Amsterdam. The award was granted for Amsterdam's holistic vision of innovation related to four areas of urban life: governance, economics, social inclusion, and quality of life. Turin and Paris were selected as second and third prize winners respectively.

Amsterdam was chosen as the winner from a list of nine finalists by a panel of independent experts. The first prize amounts to € 950 000. Amsterdam will use its prize to scale up and expand the city's efforts on innovation. In addition to Amsterdam, Turin and Paris, the list of finalists included Berlin (DE), Eindhoven (NL), Glasgow (UK), Milan (IT), Oxford (UK), and Vienna (AT).

For more information:

EC - Innovation Union news

video presentations of the nine finalists

Photo: Amsterdam (by NL Presidency)

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook