Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

08 Feb 2016

Two new ERC Scientific Council members appointed

On 5 February 2016, the European Commission appointed Professor Sir Christopher Clark and Professor Barbara Romanowicz as two new members of the Scientific Council of the European Research Council (ERC).

Sir Christopher Clark is Regius Professor of History at the University of Cambridge, and Barbara Romanowicz is professor and chair in Physics of the Earth's interior at the Collège de France, and is also professor of Geophysics at UC Berkeley, USA. Their mandate is for four years.
The new members had been selected by an independent Identification Committee, composed of six distinguished scientists appointed by the Commission. The scientific community was consulted in this process. The Committee is currently working on the identification of another two new members.

The ERC Scientific Council, composed of 22 distinguished scientists and scholars representing the European scientific community, is the governing body of the European Research Council. Its main role is setting the ERC's strategy and selecting the peer review evaluators.

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook