Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

10 Nov 2015

Commission announces members of new Science Advice Mechanism

The European Commission has announced the names of the 7 leading scientists that will form the high level group at the head of the Commission's new Scientific Advice Mechanism (SAM). SAM will replace the former post of the chief scientific adviser. The announcement also marks the official launch of the Mechanism itself.

Carlos Moedas, Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, who will oversee the group's work, has welcomed the announcement and thanked the scientific community for its support. The seven scientists of the group will establish a new phase of independent science advice in Commission policy making. The European Commission will rely on their independent advice on a range of complex policy issues where high-level scientific input is needed. The appointed seven scientists show a good balance of gender and expertise. Their names are:

◾Janusz Bujnicki
◾Pearl Dykstra
◾Elvira Fortunato
◾Rolf-Dieter Heuer
◾Julia Slingo
◾Cédric Villani
◾Henrik C. Wegener

The Science Advice Mechanism has been launched six months after President Juncker and Commissioner Moedas unveiled plans for a new independent scientific advice system at the Commission. The SAM High Level Group will draw on scientific advice and experience from Member States and around the world by creating a stronger link with national science academies and other bodies. A grant of €6 million has also been foreseen for the networks of academies and learned societies as part of the Commission's Horizon 2020 Work Programme for 2016.

More information about the new SAM High Level Group is available here.



Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook