Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

13 Jul 2015

Three new ERC Council members appointed

On 10 July 2015, the European Research Council (ERC) announced the appointment by the European Commission of three new members to the ERC's Scientific Council for the next four years: Professors Margaret Buckingham, Michael Kramer and Silvio Micali.

Margaret Buckingham, who holds dual French-British nationality, is a professor at the Pasteur Institute and Research Director at the Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS), Department of Developmental and Stem Cell Biology, Paris. Michael Kramer, a German national, is a professor and a director of the Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy in Bonn. Italian-born Silvio Micali is a professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, USA.

The three new members will replace Professors Daniel Dolev, Reinhard Grenzel and Anna Tramontano, whose terms of office have expired. The mandate of Professor Isabelle Vernos, who has been a member of the ERC Scientific Council since 2011, has been renewed for another four years.

The ERC Scientific Council consists of 22 scientists and scholars from the European scientific community. Its task is to the ERC strategy and to select the peer review evaluators. Its members are proposed by an independent Identification Committee and appointed by the European Commission.

For more information:

ERC - press release

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook