Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

09 Jul 2015

Commission seeks the next European Capital of Innovation

On 9 July 2015, Carlos Moedas, EU Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, launched the second edition of the European Capital of Innovation Award at the plenary session of the Committee of the Regions.

Won by Barcelona in 2014, this competition rewards the European city which is building the best “innovation ecosystem”, connecting citizens, public organisations, academia, and business. Given that urban areas generate two thirds of the EU's GDP, it is these areas that will contribute the most to making Europe more innovative. The new Capital of Innovation will receive €950,000 to scale up its innovation activities. The second and third cities in the ranking will respectively receive €100,000 and €50,000 for networking activities. The competition is open until 18 November 2015.

Applicant cities will be judged on how on-going and future initiatives create the right environment to innovate. An independent panel of experts will select the winning city and the two runners-up in early 2016.

The contest is open to cities from EU Member States and countries associated to Horizon 2020 which have over 100,000 inhabitants (in countries where there is no city with more than 100,000 inhabitants, the largest city is eligible to apply).

The European Commission has created the European Capital of Innovation Award to acknowledge the role of cities as places of systemic innovation, with a capacity to connect people, places, public and private actors.

More information: European Capital of Innovation website

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook