Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

08 Jul 2015

Five new members appointed for Austria Science Board

On 7 July 2015, the Austrian government appointed five new members for the Austria Science Board (Wissenschaftsrat), as proposed by Vice-Chancellor Reinhold Mitterlehner, Austrian Minister of Science, Research and Economy. The term of office of six further members of the Board was extended for another three years.

The Austrian Science Board is an advisory body to the Federal Minister of science and higher education, the Austrian Parliament and the universities, in university-related matters and science policy issues. Taking European and international developments into consideration, the Board analyses the Austrian university and science system and draws up recommendations for its further development.

The five new members have been appointed for a period of six years: Gabriele Kucsko-Stadlmayer (University of Vienna), Antonio Loprieno (University of Basel), Günther Meschke (University of Bochum); Sybille Reichert (University of Erlangen-Nürnberg), and Martin Paul (University of Maastricht).

The term of office has been extended for the following six current members until 11 April 2017: Rainer Blatt (University of Innsbruck), Kerstin Mey (University of Westminster), Manfred Prisching (University of Graz), Gerhard Riemer (formerly Austrian Industrialists' Association), Andrea Schenker-Wicki (University of Zurich), Reto Weiler (Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg), and Martina Havenith-Newen (Ruhr University Bochum)

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook