Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

23 Oct 2014

European Parliament approves new European Commission

The new European Commission, led by Jean-Claude Juncker, was formally approved by the European Parliament at its plenary session in Strasbourg on 22 October 2014, with with 423 votes in favour, 209 against and 67 abstentions. The new Commission now needs to be formally appointed by the EU Heads of State or Government to enable it to start its five-year term in office on 1 November 2014. The new Commissioner for Science, Research and Innovation will be Carlos Moedas from Portugal.

For more information see:



Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook