Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

10 Sep 2014

Carlos Moedas (Portugal) proposed as new Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation

Today, President-elect Juncker unveiled his team and the new shape of the next European Commission. The new College will have seven Vice-Presidents, six in addition to the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Policy and Security Policy (Federica Mogherini), each leading a project team. They will be steering and coordinating the work of a number of Commissioners in compositions that may change according to need and as new projects develop over time. Examples include "Jobs, Growth, Investment and Competitiveness", "Digital Single Market" or "Energy Union".

Carlos Moedas from Portugal has been designated for the portfolio of Research, Science and Innovation. This portfolio includes the services of the Directorate-General for Research and Innovation and the relevant parts of: the European Research Council executive agency (ERCEA), the Executive Agency for Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (EASME), the Innovation and Networks executive agency (INEA), the Research Executive Agency (REA).

In a next step, the European Parliament has to agree to the entire College of Commissioners. This is preceded by hearings of the Commissioners-designate in the relevant parliamentary committees. Once the European Parliament has given its consent, the European Council formally appoints the European Commission.



Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook