Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

09 Jan 2014

Jean-Pierre Bourguignon new ERC President

The European Commission has appointed Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon as the next President of the European Research Council (ERC). Professor Bourguignon, a mathematician and French national, takes over in his new role as of 1 January 2014, replacing Professor Helga Nowotny. He will be the first ERC President to be based in Brussels, in a new reinforced role. He is joining the ERC at time which is crucial for its further development, with a strongly increased seven-year budget of over €13 billion under Horizon 2020, the new EU programme for research and innovation.

Professor Bourguignon has been appointed by the Commission for a term of office limited to four years, renewable once. The ERC was led by Greek biologist Professor Fotis Kafatos from 2007 to 2010, and then by Austrian social scientist Professor Helga Nowotny from 2010 to 2013.

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook