17 Nov 2020

Commissioner Gabriel appoints three new members to Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Maarja Kruusmaa, Alberto Melloni, Nebojsa Nakicenovic. Photo credits: estonia.ee, berkleycenter.georgetown.edu, iiasa.ac.at

On 16 November 2020, Commissioner Mariya Gabriel appointed three new members to the European Commission’s Group of Chief Scientific Advisors. They were nominated by Research Organisations in response to an open call for nominations and shortlisted by a high level independent Identification Committee. The new members are:

  • Maarja Kruusmaa - Professor of Biorobotics, Vice-rector for Research, Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech) and Visiting professor with Norwegian Institute of Science and Technology (NTNU)
  • Alberto Melloni – Professor of History of Christianity at University of Modena/Reggio Emilia, secretary of the Foundation for Religious Studies and Chair Holder of the UNESCO Chair on Religious Pluralism and Peace at the University of Bologna
  • Nebojsa Nakicenovic - Director of The World in 2050 (TWI2050), former Deputy Director General and Acting Director General of the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA) and a former tenured Professor of Energy Economics at Vienna University of Technology.

Additionally, Nicole Grobert and Sir Paul Nurse have been elected as the new Chair and deputy-Chair of the Group.

For more information:

EC News